The Assessing Department provides the following information at the request of appraisal firms, real estate firms, insurance agents and the general public:
- Lot size
- Age of property
- Square footage
- Assessed value
- Sales information
- Legal description
Below is an excerpt from State Statute 74.37(7)(a) which relates to Board of Review.
7) Objections to valuations.
70.47(7)(a)(a) The board of review may not hear an objection to the amount or valuation of property unless, at least 48 hours before the board's first scheduled meeting, the objector provides to the board's clerk written or oral notice of an intent to file an objection, except that, upon a showing of good cause and the submission of a written objection, the board shall waive that requirement during the first 2 hours of the board's first scheduled meeting, and the board may waive that requirement up to the end of the 5th day of the session or up to the end of the final day of the session if the session is less than 5 days with proof of extraordinary circumstances for failure to meet the 48-hour notice requirement and failure to appear before the board of review during the first 2 hours of the first scheduled meeting. Objections to the amount or valuation of property shall first be made in writing and filed with the clerk of the board of review within the first 2 hours of the board's first scheduled meeting, except that, upon evidence of extraordinary circumstances, the board may waive that requirement up to the end of the 5th day of the session or up to the end of the final day of the session if the session is less than 5 days. The board may require such objections to be submitted on forms approved by the department of revenue, and the board shall require that any forms include stated valuations of the property in question. Persons who own land and improvements to that land may object to the aggregate valuation of that land and improvements to that land, but no person who owns land and improvements to that land may object only to the valuation of that land or only to the valuation of improvements to that land. No person shall be allowed in any action or proceedings to question the amount or valuation of property unless such written objection has been filed and such person in good faith presented evidence to such board in support of such objections and made full disclosure before said board, under oath of all of that person's property liable to assessment in such district and the value thereof. The requirement that it be in writing may be waived by express action of the board
The ability to enter property is subject to several qualifications and limitations, as described within the foregoing statutes. Copies of the statutes can be obtained at public depositories throughout the State of Wisconsin, and from the State of Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau website or a copy may be obtained from the municipal clerk upon payment of applicable copying charges.
- Waukesha County Tax Billing Information
- Waukesha County Recorded Document Search
- Online Searches Public Records Directory
- 2015 Guide for Property Owners
- 2015 Property Assessment Appeal Guide for Wisconsin Real Property Owners